Audio: We are unable to identify NDC MPs who held ‘bloody widow’ placards – Parliament


It has been revealed that opposition National Democratic Congress’ MPs who held the “bloody widow” placard in parliament cannot be identified for possible punishment even though the description was deemed distasteful and insensitive.

The Minority in parliament on February 6, 2019, staged a walkout during the swearing-in of the MP for Ayawaso West Wuogon constituency, Hon Lydia Seyram Alhassan, whiles displaying placards with “bloody widow” inscribed on them.

The First Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Joe Osei Owusu who sat in for Prof. Mike Oquaye ordered investigations into the incident for the particular MPs to be dragged before the Privileges Committee of Parliament after the Minority leadership refused to apologise for the act.

In a shocking revelation, the Office of the Clerk of Parliament has stated despite capturing of the incidence in Parliament on that day, it could not identify the MPs who held the placards with the “bloody widow” bold inscription.

Responding to a question by the Ablekuma Central MP, Ebenezer Narh Nartey on the update of the matter, Deputy Majority Leader, Sarah Adwoa Safo told the house the Clerk’s and Table office of Parliament are unable to identify such MPs after reviewing the visuals on proceedings.

“Indeed they have the tape but the identification of the specific members has been a challenge but if the visuals are not clear as stated by the public affairs directorate, we will rely on other media houses for the visuals.”

Speaker of Parliament, Prof Mike Oquaye, however, commended the MPs for not displaying placards during yesterday’s State of the Nation’s Address presentation by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.